“A video blog or video log, usually shortened to vlog /ˈvlɒɡ/, is a form of blog for which the medium is video, and is a form of web television. Vlog entries often combine embedded video (or a video link) with supporting text, images, and other metadata.” – Video blog – Wikipedia

I watch a few YouTube vloggers and one of them vlogs daily. They are a family vlogger and I love watching them as they do all different things from day to day. I love watching their family grow and just hearing their story. I feel like I know them even though I really don’t. But it has got me thinking. What kind of affect does it have on them long term?

These vloggers have kids, and I wonder like when they get older (18,19,20 years old) what will their mind set be? They have had a camera shoved in their face all their life. They are gonna think it is normal. Normal like how all of us go to the bathroom and eat food and take showers. It really isn’t normal to have a camera shoved in your face and to talk to it like its another person, or thousands of people. When these kids go out on their own when they become adults, are they gonna wanna continue vlogging or are they never gonna want to be on camera for any reason?

I just wonder what the long term side-affects of having a camera shoved in your face like will be. People have only really been doing this for like 10 years so its really hard to tell just yet. Maybe by the time they grow up it will be normal to vlog and share your life through video and put it out on the internet for the world to see. I really don’t know. If so will we live in a self-conceded world? Where its all about me me me? I hope not. The future will have us looking at screens more, I’m sure of that.

There is also the affect that vloggers have on the viewers. Where you watch them share their life with you and you feel like you know them because you know all these things about them, but you really don’t know them. You do know a lot about them but you don’t KNOW them. Maybe that can be another blog post this year!

What do you guys think about all this? Leave a comment below. I will be making another blog post here in the coming weeks about my plan for The Ramble in 2017 so be on the look out for that!

Just Rambling,

John Stuart

Leave a Reply

