Would You Pay To See A Hologram In Concert?

This is a question that has been asked many places before, but with the recent Michael Jackson hologram performance, I can’t help but bring it up again. Would you pay to see a hologram in concert? It seems like people were ecstatic to see and hear Tupac again a couple years ago at Coachella, and this year at the Billboard Music Awards, seeing Michael Jackson’s hologram was a treat. But would you pay to see that in concert… or the better question morally is this: should you?

First off, let me say that I loved the Michael Jackson “performance.” I enjoy his music, and his Xscape album is marvelous. At the same time, I love technology. Seeing this holographic event was amazing for me because it proved how far technology has come. As I watched, I was in awe. That really looked like him! His facial expressions and mannerisms were all spot on! It was so lifelike! I rewound the DVR recording just so I could see it again, still in awe.

As cool as that was, would I pay to see that in concert? No; I wouldn’t. Here’s why: first of all, I know it’s all fake, and everything is pre-recorded and rendered. It isn’t real time, and there’s nothing real about it. Why would I pay to go watch a fake? On the other hand, I would pay to watch a tribute band, or some sort of memorial event, such as Cirque de Soleil’s “Immortal.” Why? Because they’re doing so as a tribute, not as a complete recreation.

A hologram tour would be like milking the performer’s death. For a small investment, this fake could tour the world and rake in millions. This is wrong. When one is dead, they should stay dead, mainly. I say mainly because I stil find the hologram performance amazing. For special occasions, it’s amazing. To be included as part of a tribute performace, I find that acceptable. For a hologram to be the main focus of an event or tour… not so much.

There’s a fine line where morailty comes into play. Everyone will have their own opinion, but there is no way I could justify having a company milk Michael Jackson’s death for money. If all the Beatles dropped dead, then a memorial event where their holograms did one performance might be cool. Having them make a big deal of it and tour the holograms around… that’s messed up.

What do you think? Sound off below!

Thanks For Reading
Matt

Leave a Reply

