4 Games I’m Looking Forward To In The Rest Of 2014

If you know me, you know I’m a huge gamer. I play a lot of different games in a lot of different genres. Here are just a few of the ones I’m looking forward to the most in 2014; these top four are in no particular order.

#1: Super Smash Bros.

Just like Mario Kart, each on Nintendo’s recent systems have seen a Super Smash Bros; the N64, Gamecube, and Wii all have their entries. This summer, the first handheld Smash Bros. will be released (3DS), and the Wii U version will follow in the winter. Smash Bros. is great because it infuses fighting gameplay with Nintendo’s gigantic roster of loveable characters, and it always features great stages and music to boot. The series is easy to learn, but it’s tough to master. I’m excited to see how Nintendo and Sora (the developing studio) will implement 3D into the handheld version of this game!

#2: Destiny

Halo is my favorite series of all time, so when the Halo developers announced a new IP, I took note. On September 9th, Bungie will release Destiny, an ambitious shooter that is tough to describe. It contains MMO elements with a persistent online universe, encourages teamwork, and infuses RPG elements into the otherwise stale FPS genre. I can’t wait to get my hands on the Beta that comes out this summer, and I hope that all my wishes are fulfilled at the final launch date.

#3: Evolve

I haven’t been following Evolve extremely closely, but Game Informer’s coverage on the title a couple months ago really piqued my interest. Evolve pits four players against one gigantic beast, and they must work together to take the beast down. The catch? Well, there are several. First, the beast is controlled by another human. Secondly, the beast can evolve. It’s a race for the humans to find the creature before he gets the chance to evolve and become stronger. The downside to evolution is that you’re easily spotted; you make larger tracks, louder sounds, etc. More often than not, the humans lose the battle, but if four people can work together well, they can take down even the toughest of monsters. I’m excited to see what Evolve brings this fall!

#4: Watch_Dogs

Watch_Dogs releases this May after a lengthy delay. Watch_Dogs puts the player in a futuristic version of Chicago, which already sounds interesting enough for anyone who has lived in or visited the city (like me). Even better, you’re a hacker. You can hack all sorts of items around you, allowing you to open doors, divert traffic, and steal information on the fly. With so much power, I’m interested to see what I can do with it. Even better, Ubisoft is working very hard at bringing the world to life with intense realism.

That’s it for now; these are the ones I’m really looking forward to, although there are plenty of other 2014 projects to mention. Some DLC packs such as the upcoming Outlast Whistleblower DLC and the Resogun DLC aren’t necessarily new games, and couldn’t be included in the list. Furthermore, one of my highly anticipated titles, Trials Fusion, released about a week ago, so I couldn’t include it either. What games are you looking forward to in the next several months? comment below!

Thanks For Reading

Matt

 

One thought on “4 Games I’m Looking Forward To In The Rest Of 2014

Leave a Reply

