Becoming Invisible: Impossible, But Not Easy

Judging by the title of this post, (assuming you read it) you might think there’s been some scientific discovery that allows us to become invisible. Maybe they invented a new cloaking material, or maybe there’s a liquid that masks heat signatures on infared scanners. Maybe these things exist; I have no idea. But I’m not talking about a physical invisibility; I’m talking about a spiritual one. I’m talking about a mental and emotional invisibility in which God shines through our lives. But you know what the problem is?

I have no idea what I’m talking about.

Ok, so here’s where I stand. Every year in Columbus, Ohio, there is a teen youth convention called Ohio Teens For Christ. Among the activities there, every year they hold a preaching competition for teens, and I plan on entering this year. We have to come up with a sermon that revolves around the topic for the year; this year’s topic is “Invisible.” It’s an interesting one because it’s so abstract. Being invisible isn’t physically possible… yet it is possible in a way we can’t see, which in itself is invisible. In any case, I’m stuck. I’ve been thinking about invisibility and what it means, but I can’t wrap my thoughts into something cohesive; something that people will want to hear about. So, today, I’ll simply be sharing my thoughts, as messy as they might be.

On the onset, being spiritually invisible means that we need to follow the instructions in John 3:30: “He must increase, but I must decrease.” Basically, we have to let less of ourselves show and let more of God show in our lives. that doesn’t mean we can’t have a personality; that’s not it at all. I mean that when we talk to our friends, when we deal with customers at our jobs, or when we help a person in need, we have to make sure that they look at us and see that we’re Christians. We have to live less for ourselves and more for Him.

Now, it’s easy to talk about this like I know what I’m talking about, but let’s face it, I (and most of you) don’t. I know I have a problem living for myself oftentimes when I could live for others. This Christmastime, I could have put together an Operation Christmas Child box… but I bought myself a new video game instead with my extra cash. do I regret that? Yeah, I do, sometimes more than at other times, but it’s over now. I can’t go back and do it again, but I can surely strive for better this year. I’m going on a missions trip to New Orleans this summer; that’s a step in the right direction, and I’m trying to live for God. But sometimes life gets in the way, or at least that’s what I sometimes tell myself. “I have to do this; I can’t do something for God right now. I’m too busy.” But am I just making excuses?

Invisibility is difficult because we live in a world where it’s all about “me, me, me!” I have to do all these things for myself, and I have less time to help others and live for God. Right? How can one be invisible and let God be the leading factor in their life when the rest of society says that’s wrong and that they need to go to the movies instead, or that they need to focus on college instead or that they need to get a job and a girlfriend and play sports and do all the things that other Americans do? I’m not saying that any of these are inherently bad things; they’re all great things in moderation! But we need to make sure that all these things we do for ourselves decrease so that God, (the most important since he saves us from Hell) might increase and we can spread his love to others.

I’m not trying to get all Christian-speak on you; I don’t want to alienate some people who might be reading. It’s just hard to explain why it’s important to live for God and not ourselves sometimes. The best thing I can say is that if somebody saved your life, wouldn’t you want to repay them somehow? I firmly believe God saved mine, (though he’s an invisible being) so I need to try harder and do better to repay him for his kindness. That starts with becoming invisible and decreasing in my own self want while his more important goals increase and shine through me. But that’s all I’ve got for now. Hit the like or follow buttons if you’ve enjoyed, and I’ll see you next time.

Just Contemplating
Matt

6 thoughts on “Becoming Invisible: Impossible, But Not Easy

  1. My brother suggested I may like this website. He was once totally right. This put up actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

    Like

  2. Howdy I am so happy I found your web site, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Bing for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a marvelous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the fantastic b.

    Like

Leave a Reply

