Book Review: The Jungle by Clive Cussler

I had seen a lot of books by Clive Cussler over the years, but never once had I been tempted to pick one up. However, my grandpa recommended this one to me and let me borrow it; I really, really enjoyed this book. It started off pretty slow, but it eventually played out like a suspenseful action movie in my head. Read on to hear more about this great book.

The Jungle tells the story about a special operations group called The Corporation. They’re a group of men and women who take on missions, usually from from rich individuals or the government. Usually, these missions include finding lost relatives or kidnapped children, and this one is no different. An Islamic man tasks The Corporation with rescuing his mentally disabled son, Setiawan, who was kidnapped and will now be used as a suicide bomber by an extremist Muslim group. The Corporation not only saves Setiawan, but they also end up saving a man named MacD who says he works for another spec op company; he was being tortured by these men, but the Corporation rescued him the same night as Setiawan.

Next up, they accept a mission from a French man whose daughter is supposed to be hiking in Asia, if my memory serves me right, Burma or Bangladesh, to be exact; the B countries confuse me. Anyhow, long story short, they find out that this entire mission was a trap, but they didn’t find out until they were already insnared. They were then taken to prison, and after a prison break, they head out to exact revenge. I’ll stop here, lest I give away too many spoilers, but this book is a great one. There are plenty of plot twists, and this review is so short because if I tell any more, I risk giving away one of the big twists. The Jungle is somewhat a mystery novel, it’s got military style action, and it’s a ton of fun; by the time I reached the last quarter of the book or so, I didn’t want to put it down! I believe the book is part of a series, so I’ll definitely be checking the rest of them out soon, and I suggest you all do the same.

If you’ve enjoyed this post, hit the like or follow buttons; see ya later, and thanks for reading!

Matt

Leave a Reply

